RSS

CONTRADICTION

24 Dec

Is it possible to love a book by an author and equally hate another book by the same author?

image

library

No? Well anything is feasible in this world.

Let’s just start with my review of four different novel/series by this beautiful Author.

1) HOLLYWOOD DIRT

            

image

Enrapturing cover

What I think about the book?

Let’s just say there is this new author in TOWN who writes the best stories.

I LOVED THIS BOOK!
It wasn’t boring.
It was Exciting.
It has a kickass Heroine.
An actual hero.
A wonderful story.
And a romance.

FIVE FANTASTIC STARS!!!! 

Excerpt –

Cole Masten Abandoned by his superstar wife, Hollywood’s Perfect Husband is now Hollywood’s Sexiest Bachelor: partying hard and screwing even harder. Watch out Los Angeles, there’s a new bad boy in town. 

Summer Jenkins That’s me, a small town girl stuck in Quincy, Georgia. I cook some mean chicken and dumplins, can bluff a grown man out of his savings in poker, and was voted Most Friendly my senior year. 

We were from different worlds. Our lives shouldn’t have collided. But then Cole Masten read a book about my small town. And six months later, his jet landed on our dusty airstrip, and he brought Hollywood with him. 

From the start, I knew he was trouble. For our town. And for me. 

Sometimes, opposites just aren’t meant to attract. 

Why this book?

What I really loved about this story was that Summer wasn’t a huge doormat. She was friendly, vivacious and very independent. She knew how to deal with Cole. There was a wild chemistry brewing between Cole and Summer and the author narrated it phenomenally.

2) Tight –

        

image

 

My Review –

Oh…My BAD LUCK! 

THIS IS NOT A NOVEL I WANT TO RECOMMEND OR REREAD AGAIN. 
What I fail to understand is how I can love a work by the same author and equally hate ( yeah I hate the damn story) the other novel.
Where ‘Hollywood Dirt’ and ‘The Dumont Diaries’ made me expect more and more, this book stuck a dagger through all my hopes !

0.5 stars, just because I like Alessandra Torre’s writing!

Excerpt –

I was happy in my small town. In my life as a single, thirty-two year old woman. I had a good job, wonderful friends, my independence.

I also hadn’t got laid in three years. Hadn’t been on a date in two. Had stopped counting calories and wearing makeup… a while ago.

Then Brett Jacobs waltzed in. Caressed my thigh, dug rough fingers into my hair, lowered his soft mouth to my skin, took sexual control of my mind and stirred it all around with what he packed in his pants. He flipped my quiet life upside down and crawled into a place in my heart I thought was dead.

The issue is his secret.
The issue is her.
The issue is that I don’t even know she exists, and he thinks she is dead.
The issue is that shit is about to hit the fan and I can’t hold on to him tight enough.

3) The Dumont Series –

image

Review –

It was a short series, I wish I could do an audio review coz I seriously don’t want to write, type or think. But I really liked this book so a review is a must.

YOU REMEMBER FIFTY SHADES?

NO, it’s nothing like that (I love Fifty shades, don’t judge me) What I really liked about this series was its protagonist, the girl. I freaking adored her. She was brave, means I would have killed the hero by the sequel but she? She tolerated him. I hated the hero at first, but I was also intrigued. Like WHY IS HE DOING THAT!
  
It was all for a reason though. 

A story of a girl who is trying to live by stripping and stuff (she wasn’t exactly a whore) but money is something she doesn’t have and needs very much as her father is suffering. 

The hero is another matter, he loves a girl (still does) who cheated him, deceived him, played with his trust and ran with his money. He can’t forget her but he does know how to bring her back (by making her jealous, seriously? I loved it) So, from there the main story starts….

This story had me hooked for a whole night, it isn’t long but it is very exciting and different from others. Its not fifty kinda dirty but its also not 16+. It’s adult so kids and teens stay away. 

4) Innocence Series

image

The first part of the series was interesting and exciting. The second was too lingering and third was a bit dull. All in all, I am not going to pick this one up anytime soon.

Excerpt

“I’m not sure what you have been told about me, but I’m not nearly as bad as they make me out to be.” His deliciously deep voice carried a little bit of ego. 

I’m sure you are exactly as bad as they make you out to be…. 

Brad De Luca is used to getting whatever and whomever he wants. The premier divorce attorney in town, he’s a playboy who’s bedded half the city—including his own clients. And when the newest intern at his firm poses a challenge, his seductive prowess goes into overdrive. 

Pre-law student Julia Campbell is fresh off a failed engagement and happy with her new independence. Even if she weren’t warned away from Brad at every turn, she’d know he was bad news. The last thing she needs is a man who could destroy her job prospects, not to mention her innocence. But before she knows it, the incorrigible charmer has her under his spell. His deviant tastes plunge her deep into a forbidden world of sexual exploration…but her heart may not survive the fall. 

Why I didn’t like this book?

Brad De Luca is not my definition of an ideal hero. What I really didn’t like about him was his extreme dominance. It was like the man was facing some mental disorder, he was bipolar. Julia Campbell on the other hand is warned by almost everyone to not go near him because he is a playboy. Even after a failed engagement, she hasn’t learned about the difference between Gentleman and an overweening stubborn

stalker. The first part was really good, I enjoyed it very much (no lies there) and I tried to like the second one but I couldn’t. I continued and read the whole series, I found it dull and extremely lingering

.

It is just so incredible that I loved Hollywood dirt and Dumont series so much (5 stars much) and disliked tight (0.5 star) and Innocence Series (2.5 stars)

I can’t believe the contradiction myself but its true.

At the end, I will conclude by saying

“Everyone has different views, likes and dislikes so do not be surprised if you like the books I didn’t. It’s natural, even one of my favourite bloggers loved ‘Tight’.”

Till then, MERRY CHRISTMAS!

IT HAS FINALLY COME – Hurrah!

image

Christmas, Santa Claus coming by train...:)

God Bless you all. Wish you a wonderful Christmas, an awesome holiday and prosperous weekend.

Nishtha Singh

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 24, 2015 in .5 to 5 stars, 2015, Emotional, Five Stars, Love, Series

 

Reply Appreciated

 
