RSS

BEST NOVELS (GENRE – SUSPENSE)

27 Dec

I know you guys might have read it before, but I had the privilege to read it this year.

The best suspense read of 2015 for me!

image

Let’s go through nominations first

1• Cuckoo’s Calling and Silkworm

TO SAY I WAS MIRTHFUL WHILE READING ‘Cuckoos Calling‘ would be an understatement, I was chewing on my nails, biting my cheeks from inside and I felt my cheeks flame whenever something unanticipated occurred Rowling was as always articulate, persuasive, humorous and surreptitious in her writing. Sometimes I felt agitated, sometimes benevolent and sometimes rhapsodic . My eyes bulged and narrowed on every second paraph…I suspected the murderer to be …well no lies ….I suspected every…literally every person excluding Strike AND Robin.
      This year I read it again so I don’t miss out anything or not misunderstand anything in ‘Silkworm‘  
   What can you expect from J.K.Rowling?

Every Damn thing.

So, when I came across this book. I knew she will easily pull this off and she did.

Oh how she did! I respect and love J.K.Rowling, her writing style, her narration, her use of words, her intelligent mind and the meticulous description of every thing. This book was actually a Raksha-Bandhan (an Indian Festival) gift from my brother followed by a hardcover copy of Silkworm this year. I read ‘Robert Galbraith’ and jumped on it. You see, I already knew J.K.Rowling was writing under this pseudonym and my brother knew how much I loved her books. I had completed Harry Potter in a week.
This book, wow, I am still speechless. J.K.Rowling is awesome.

A MASTER READ 

HATS OFF TO J.K.ROWLING OR SHOULD I USE THE PSEUDONYM ROBERT GALBRAITH…. 

MA’AM You are one Great Writer !….

2 • Mistress of the Game by Tilly Bagshawe

image

 

Sometimes you have to lose something for winning something” said by Tilly Bagshawe

My 2010 reviewDon’t judge me, I was too young.

THANKS TO SPY FOR SUGGESTING THIS BOOK NAMED “THE MISTRESS OF THE GAME”..
LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK ….GABE,LEXI,ROBBIE..EVEN MAX WAS NICE …ITS NOT A TRUE STORY BUT IF YOU WILL READ IT , you will surely say “Hell!! this is what happens in this world, this is how people become rich”…….for the first time i felt like i m reading Meyer !!!or Collins ..though Collins is not my favourite but i like her books a bit…a book that made me sleep was the  …ugh…i hated it!!! damn wastage of time it was!!! but this one was worth reading!!!

Sometimes you just have to be smart enough to fool the world!! remember every end is the beginning!!said by Sidney Sheldon

Now, the real me, who does not use a flood of exclamation marks, so many love symbols and Well, that review was shit. I had posted it somewhere, today I just copied and pasted it.

So, What is this book about?

As this book is a suspense book, sharing anything more than the blurb will be spoiling it for you readers.

So I will post the blurb and then share some of my opinion about this novel.

Beloved number one internationally bestselling author Sidney Sheldon introduced the glamorous, scheming Blackwell family and its unforgettable matriarch, Kate Blackwell, in his worldwide bestseller Master of the Game. Now a generation has passed, and as the world has changed, so too has America’s own royal family.

Yet the intervening years have not lessened the Blackwells’ drama or talent for manipulation, domination, and passion. Though Kate is long gone, the children of her beloved granddaughters, Eve and Alexandra, battle to carry on her powerful legacy. Each is determined to control Kruger-Brent, Ltd., the multibillion-dollar international corporation with holdings in diverse industries around the globe. But only one can reign supreme. . . .

Lexi Templeton is a ruthless competitor with the brains and beauty to match. Raised by her psychiatrist father, Lexi burns to follow in her great-grandmother’s footsteps and become her own Mistress of the Game.

She is not alone in her ambitions. Her handsome and nefarious cousin, Max Webster, the son of Eve, will stop at nothing to own the prize of Kruger-Brent. Driven by hatred, jealousy, and blinding devotion to his bitter and twisted mother, he will seduce, betray, and even kill to succeed.

And there is another player with plans of his own: a little-known descendant of Kate’s great-grandfather. Growing up in poverty in Aberdeen, Scotland, handsome and cunning Gabriel McGregor is determined to fulfill his destiny . . a quest that will lead him deep into the heart of the Kruger-Brent empire.

In a family rife with secrets—murder, hidden identities, perversions—and a depraved sense of honor, the player who wins the game may be the only one who will survive.

Full of the late master’s trademark elements—remarkable characters, dazzling plotting, and a page-turning narrative style—this sizzling sequel vividly captures the master’s voice and irresistible magic. Vintage Sheldon, Mistress of the Game will enthrall loyal fans and introduce his enduring brand to legion more.

I liked the author’s way of representing the characters. Lexi appealed to me, I found Robbie’s character the most innocent and caring. I loved Gabe for his sharp knowledge of everything.
The story had a small suspense, if not big. I would recommend it.

3 • Dream Man –
image

OH MY GOD

THIS DESERVES A APPLAUD! 

This book made the hair on the back of my next stand up and shudder ( okay, I know I am exaggerating but wow!!!)

5.1 stars! Finally I giving it again. 

Linda Howard has a inner desire to cross all my expectations and then some more.

This book made me weep with excitement. I can’t explain it in a small review, I need to write an essay maybe.

Dane ( swooning ^_^ ) sexy Hollister is the definition of ‘A Hot Male Detective’ and he is very passionate about his work and duty so of course when there is murder in the city and no leads, he is determined to find the killer. His senior takes help of a psychic, our heroine who knows how to argue. Dane can’t control himself in front of her, he wants her, bad but he doesn’t believe in psychics so insults her.

But then, there is another murder, another girl killed viciously but no leads. Dane has no choice but to believe Marlie (the heroine and psychic). Something happened in her past due to which she doesn’t want the media to know that she is helping the police. 

The thing with Marlie is that she can see the murder happening, she is always inside the killers mind when he is doing it. And as she is in the killer’s mind only when he is doing the deed, she can’t see him or help the girl. 

This concept used by the author is so vividly used in the book that you won’t leave the book midst. 

The murder scenes are not gory, but will make you shiver.

The suspense is unpredictable and appraiseworthy!

5.1.stars

4 • Mr. Perfect
image

I didn’t expect the end. 

It has a suspense okay? An awesome suspense. The book felt like a movie, Jaine and Sam were constantly fighting in the start ( and isn’t it common in every Linda Howard’s novel ? ) 

I can’t spoil it for you, I wish I could but Eeeeeeee! I can’t. You’d probably kill me for the big spoiler. 

The story is of four girlfriends who are quite close, they meet over for drinks one day and make a list, of a perfect man…

Wow-

Faithful
Good to both old people and children. 
Good looks
Comfortable money 

And much more…

but this list doesn’t remain a secret list, it spreads. One of the friends tells about it to another friend who demands the whole list, they laugh and giggle throughout the way but well that friend isn’t really someone who can digest a talk so she tells it to someone else, press. 

Well, suddenly they are getting call from a person, all four friends. They ignore it, thinking of it as a stupid prank call but well you wish it was. 

Then, there is a murder, and the story has just begun.

There is a romance going on throughout the story. I don’t think the b of boring can even touch the novel, its just soooo entertaining.

Five.one stars

I giving them a lot lately but well…

I love Howard.

A few honourable mentions –

• THE MASON LIST

• THE OPEN SEASON

• FUGLY

• DIRTY RED LIES

My favourite suspense novel is DREAM MAN.

image

Enjoy reading..:)

Nishtha Singh

 

Reply Appreciated

 
