RSS

BOOK REVIEW

11 Apr
BOOK REVIEW

Book Review

Received this book not long time back and today I felt like reading it. I decided to complete the book by this week but well, this story had its own thinking and I completed it today itself.

And here is my review,

image

BLURB–

image

The world seemed not enough for free spirited Renuka, when she married the highly educated Shashank hailing from the mightiest Zamindars of Bengal. However, soon her life turned upside down when a neighbor revealed her of their sinister past.

It’s a mysterious supernatural curse cast on their family almost a century back. Generation by generation, Damini’s enraged curse had passed on, declining their family clan from hundreds to a handful few. Who would be Damini’s next victim? And why innocent lives are at a stake for a crime committed by an ancestor a hundred years back? Renuka would not settle until she finds an answer and in her quest she struggles to eradicate all the evils that come in her way. Would she ever win a battle against an unseen enemy? Would the wrong done to Damini be ever avenged?

Set against the nostalgic era of 1940s, the story narrates the arduous journey of Renuka Pal, the protagonist, from a rash teen age freedom fighter to the seasoned writer of the 21st century India. In this thrilling saga of death, betrayal and power plays the narrative would cover a large chunk of twentieth century history. The passing of time, historical events and the changing country is so well-woven to the story that one would hardly differentiate between fact and fiction. 

image

 

My Review –

Words to the author –

I am at a complete loss of words. I don’t know how to express this novel in simple words. To the author, I don’t know if you have written before or if this is your debut, but I request you to write more. I sincerely thank you for providing me with the paperback of this novel and I will try to express my feelings towards this book with this review.

Review – That feeling of freedom, that feeling of peace, that feeling of love and feeling of pleasure is so vivid in this novel that you will be lost… I started the book with the song of Shawn Mendes “Stitches” in my ear (i love the song). I actually have this really bad habit of singing with the singer if I am getting bored while reading or doing anything in general (writing blog excluded) but I noticed a change. I wasn’t humming, or singing, i was apparently quiet and actually inside the book even before the completion of first chapter. I felt compelled to read more and I don’t know about others but I cursed a lot while reading this book. At first, I was just cursing the people like Lalit then I was just being proud of Papia and Renuka. When I completed few chapters of the novel, I thought to myself, Oh shit! Another horror story!  (Just for note: I am not a brave girl, I am weak at heart, I do no read horror books or see horror movies)

I still continued…I can’t reveal about the “horror” side of the book because that will be a huge spoiler but I can disclose that whatever happens will please you to no end. Another thing that happened was falling in love with the book’s protagonist, Renuka. That girl was like fire! She was freedom incarnate. I loved her bravery. Secondly, I loved Shashank’s character… Wow! Wow! And WOW! that is the man a girl really needs in her life. He was the best husband a girl could hope of getting. The book also spoke about the ancient traditions and cultures that were practised in the 1940s in India. The widowhood, dowry, child marriage, etc.
The characters Renuka and Shashank became too important and their story simply enraptured me. Let’s be honest, fictional characters are always great and imaginary but these fictional characters, they were easy to not just imagine but also believe. Believe as in, I could picture a girl like Renuka in India who fought against all bad practises and I could believe in a caring husband like Shashank. It was easy to picture a shy and afraid Papia and a clever Lalit.

This book taught me few things as well.

At last my thoughts – This is what I expect from the authors of India, not the lost fairytale that are too good to be true or too sad to be read. I as a reader want a story which if fiction, has the ability to take me to a whole new world which can be felt. I want to be able to be feel the protagonist, cry and laugh with him/her and I felt it with “The Curse of Damini.”

image

 

Rating –

I give it a 5.1 star for brilliant cast and storyline.

A must must read!

Do take it seriously, as I am very fair with my reviews.

Nishtha Singh

 

Reply Appreciated

 
