RSS

BOOK REVIEW

28 May

 

COINMAN: An Untold Conspiracy
               —- Pawan Mishra

image

  I am speechless. I seriously do not know how to express my feeling towards this book in a single 400+ words review!

The reason is below:

image

Blurb
Winner: 2016 eLit Book Award for Literary Fiction (Bronze)
Finalist: 2016 National Indie Excellence Award for Humor

Synopsis 
Coinman, a junior level office worker in India, has a number of eccentricities. The laughingstock of the office, he finds no relief at home; his wife Imli, an obsessed actress, completely vanishes into each role. When tough bully, Hukum, beautiful enchantress, Tulsi, and the office sage, Ratiram, unite the office to conspire against Coinman, they have no inkling of an apocalypse looming inside the office.

image

My Review

I am an avid reader. If I get into a book, I just get “into” it. You won’t find me eating food, listening music, singing, dancing or doing other less important works in the middle (of reading). Coinman, a 200+ words book was short and thrilling. I knew that the story was good because of ‘ 2016 eLit Book Award for Literary Fiction (Bronze)’ (people do not just get it for no reason).

Hence, I started the book at 10:30 P.M. and finished by 3:17. The story was interesting, brilliantly written, comical, exciting and above all, original.

Why original? How many fictional books have you read that you can relate to? Have you read something that made you laugh so hard that the person sleeping next to you (in my case – my twin sister) wakes up and slaps you hard on the arm?(ouch! That did hurt but well, I deserved it, my sister did have an exam today)

Kesar, the Coinman, was quite an amazing character. He was incredible with his obsession of coins. His wife, Imli, was an obsessed actress that added fun and laughter to the story. His colleagues, well, I didn’t like them.

Kesar’s story was full of suspense and looked promising unlike the other “suspense” books in the market which define suspense as “killing one of your favourite characters in the end”. I love how the author described the characters, environment and especially loved the plot. The twists and turns were not confusing and made the story even more mirthful!

A man wants too many things before marriage but only peace after it.

Amazing quotes!!!

The author is a genius with writing!

Favourite lines —

“The hope is the best and the worst thing at the same time”

Still hope is a better companion than fear

“Most of a husband’s life is spent in doing research on his wife.” 

I didn’t know that, thankfully I am single. So, no worries of stalkers.

Ratings –
4.5 stars

The story was short, according to me. My friends on GR love it and I love it but I would have preferred a lengthier story. I would still recommend it  because currently it tops the “My favourite (Indian) book of the year”

image

I recently finished Game of Thrones Season 6 4th episode. I have already read the books. Waiting for more!

Next review

image

Take care!

Nishtha Singh

 

Reply Appreciated

 
